A Love Letter to Elmer(s)

I find myself thinking about Elmer constantly. Every time I bind a book, Elmer is there with me. When I break a beloved knickknack, I hope that Elmer is near to help me recover. As long as I craft, I will always reach for Elmer first. It isn’t Elmer Fudd that gets my stuff stickin’, it is the good old-fashioned Elmer’s school glue I grew up with that I love. It was my first adhesive, my very first craft crush. I can still recall when we first met, in kindergarden when my teacher taught me to press one piece of paper onto another and hold it for thirty seconds to make it stick. That thirty seconds was all it took for me to consider all of the possibilities. I now had the power to stick one thing onto another thing.

Since those heady elementary school days, I’ve met other adhesives. In middle school I laid my hands on my first glue gun, and I won’t pretend that it wasn’t wonderful. When I was introduced to epoxy I felt light-headed (or it might have just been the fumes). But a dense fog of nostalgia colors all my thoughts of Elmer’s glue. Here are a few Elmer’s crafts to salivate over and perhaps make myself, some day soon.

2

Click the photo for a tutorial. Designs by Ruche.

6a00d8341d1cc153ef00e553541c9a8833-500wi

Cut tiles with tile-cutters, then glue the pieces to an old window with Elmer’s. When the project is complete, fill the cracks with grout. According to my mosaic-making teacher, Elmer’s is unsurpassed for transparency. An excellent way to make a stained glass window without investing in soldier supplies, but be forewarned that it is amazingly time consuming. Design by Monte J. Gennai.

206108_14Mar12_IMGP0023

A full post about quilling will be up soon. In the mean time, whet your apetite with this beauty, designed by Mezcraft.

5100923490_5310118e48

Paper mache antler. The strongest formula for paper mache is one part Elmer’s to one part water. Click the image for a tutorial on making these antlers. Design by erdbeerblau.

You can find a tutorial by clicking on the photo. Designs by Alisonwonderland.

You can find a tutorial by clicking on the photo. Designs by Alisonwonderland.

IMG_0115

These amazing vintage Star Wars shoes were actually made with Modge Podge, but any good crafter knows that Modge Podge is a thinner version of the same adhesive (PVA), and can be replicated by adding a little water to some Elmer’s GlueAll. Design by Benaequee.

Leave a Reply

